Is Rosebud Worth It in 2026? Price, Limits and Who It's Really For

Published · AI journaling apps
By the Optimize Your Life With AI editorial team · Facts last checked

Independent and reader-supported. Some links may become affiliate links; see our disclosure. We don't accept payment for coverage.

A woman in white sleepwear writes in her diary while sitting up in bed.

Short answer: Rosebud is worth it if you journal several times a week and want an AI that remembers your history and spots patterns over months, at $12.99/month or $107.99/year for Rosebud Bloom. Since Rosebud retired its free plan on September 30, 2026, it’s no longer the obvious place to start for casual journalers; free alternatives like Reflection now cover the basics without a subscription.

Here’s what you get for the money, the limits to know about, and how Rosebud compares, with every fact checked on Rosebud’s official pages on October 16, 2026.

What changed: the free plan is gone

Rosebud’s help center says that, because its upgraded memory system needs significantly more resources to run, it can’t sustainably offer a free tier, and that the free plan was retired effective September 30, 2026. It also says nothing you’ve written is going away and you can export everything at any time (Rosebud Help: Changes to the Free Plan).

One thing to be aware of: as of October 16, 2026, Rosebud’s homepage still says “Try it free” and “Rosebud is free to use” near its pricing section (Rosebud homepage). We read that as referring to the free trial, but we didn’t find the trial length published on the pages we checked.

How much Rosebud costs

PlanPriceSource
Rosebud Bloom, monthly$12.99/monthRosebud homepage
Rosebud Bloom, annual$107.99/year (shown as $8.99/month)Rosebud homepage
Thrive 2x$24.99 and $199.99US App Store
Thrive 5x$59.99 and $499.99US App Store

The App Store lists the Thrive tiers as in-app purchases without labeling billing periods; the price pairs follow the same monthly and yearly pattern as Bloom. Rosebud’s homepage doesn’t describe these tiers, and we didn’t find their usage allowances published.

Discounts: Rosebud offers 40% off Bloom for eligible students, seniors aged 65 and older, and people with documented disabilities, but only for subscriptions created on the web, not in the mobile app (Rosebud Help: Discounts).

What you get with Bloom

Based on Rosebud’s help center:

  • Long-term memory. Rosebud recalls earlier entries so you don’t have to re-explain context. Memory is automatically enabled for Bloom subscribers. The help center notes it does better recalling topics than specific dates (Long-term memory).
  • Follow-up conversations on entries (“Dig Deeper”) and entry reflections.
  • Weekly reports with writing stats, mood trends, key themes and the people who come up most. Writing more than 1,500 words in a week unlocks an in-depth report (Weekly report).
  • Voice journaling, with transcription and read-aloud.
  • Goal and habit support, per our Rosebud app page.

It works on iPhone, Android, Mac via the App Store, and the web, where the web app is a lighter companion.

The limits to know about

Paying doesn’t mean unlimited AI. Rosebud’s help center says it sets a weekly usage limit on AI processing, covering Dig Deeper conversations, entry reflections, voice transcription and read-aloud, weekly reports and “Ask Rosebud” (Usage limits). Key points:

  • More capable AI models use more of your budget per interaction; you can switch to a more efficient model.
  • Long entries cost more per turn, because each turn includes everything written so far.
  • At 100%, Dig Deeper is blocked until your weekly reset, though you can still write and get an entry reflection. Unused allowance doesn’t carry over.
  • Your entries are never deleted when you hit the limit, and upgrading to a higher tier lifts it immediately.

If you write long, conversational entries every day, check your usage meter in the first couple of weeks.

Privacy: what Rosebud says

Rosebud’s privacy policy was last updated September 8, 2026 (Rosebud Privacy Policy). It says:

  • Data is stored in Google Firestore and encrypted in transit and at rest.
  • AI processing uses OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, Amazon Web Services and Groq. Data sent to them is anonymized, containing journal content without user-identifying information, under Zero Data Retention agreements.
  • It runs automated quality evaluations in which AI systems review real interactions; the policy says these are processed by machine and not reviewed by staff.
  • Journal entries are never shared or sold, except where required by law enforcement.
  • Analytics and ad tools on the website don’t receive journal entries.

The policy doesn’t make a blanket statement that entries are never used to train AI, but the Zero Data Retention agreements mean its AI providers discard data after processing. Reflection and Mindsera state outright that entries aren’t used to train AI models.

Refunds and cancelling

  • Web subscriptions: cancel from your Subscription page. To request a refund you must cancel first; Rosebud says monthly refunds must be requested before the end of the current billing cycle, and yearly refunds within 30 days of the start or renewal, and only the most recent billing period is refundable (Refund Policy).
  • iOS and Android subscriptions are handled by Apple or Google, so refunds go through their stores.
  • Rosebud says it doesn’t automatically cancel or refund subscriptions for non-use (Billing).

Before you leave: export your entries. On the web, Settings has an “Export to Markdown” option for all entries (Export data).

Rosebud vs free and cheaper alternatives

AppFree planPaid fromAI training on entries
RosebudNo (trial only)$8.99/month billed yearlyNot stated as a blanket promise; ZDR providers
ReflectionYes, includes AI Coach$5.75/month billed yearlyNo, per Reflection
DayoraYes, free core$6/month (intro, before Nov 1, 2026)Possibly, per Dayora
Life NoteYes, with AI mentor access$99.99/yearNot stated
MindseraYes, but AI is paid$129/yearNo, per Mindsera
Day OneYes, no AI$74.99/year for AI (Gold)Not stated

From each app page in our database, checked October 16, 2026. Sources are listed on each app page.

For more detail, see Rosebud vs Reflection, Rosebud vs Mindsera and our full Rosebud alternatives guide, or browse every app in the AI journaling comparison.

How to decide during the trial

A short, structured test tells you more than a few random entries:

  1. Journal the way you normally would. If you usually write three short entries a week, don’t write daily during the trial; you’ll get a false picture of both the value and the usage limits.
  2. Ask a memory question by the end of the week, such as “What patterns have you noticed in my mood lately?” Rosebud’s help center suggests topic-based questions like this rather than date-specific ones.
  3. Check your usage meter under Settings, then Subscription, to see how much of the weekly budget your normal routine uses.
  4. Try the same entry in a free app. Paste a similar entry into Reflection’s free plan and compare the follow-up questions.
  5. Export a test entry so you know how to get your writing out later.

Who Rosebud is worth it for

Rosebud makes sense if you:

  • Journal regularly and want an AI that connects entries over weeks and months.
  • Value weekly reports on mood, themes and the people in your life.
  • Like voice journaling.
  • Are comfortable with a subscription, or qualify for the 40% discount.

It’s probably not worth it if you journal occasionally, want a free AI journal, or want a written promise that entries are never used to train AI.

AI journaling apps aren’t a substitute for professional care. If you’re in crisis, contact local emergency services or a crisis line.

Our verdict

Rosebud’s memory and weekly reports are its strongest reasons to pay, and $107.99/year is in line with other premium AI journals. But with the free plan gone and weekly usage limits on AI features, it’s now a deliberate purchase rather than an easy default. Start the trial, journal the way you normally would for a week, watch your usage meter, and compare it with Reflection’s free plan before choosing annual billing.

Apps mentioned

FAQ

Is Rosebud still free?

No. Rosebud's help center says its free plan was retired effective September 30, 2026. Continuing means Rosebud Bloom at $12.99/month or $107.99/year. As of October 16, 2026, the homepage still offers a free trial; we didn't find the trial length published.

How much does Rosebud cost?

Rosebud Bloom is $12.99/month or $107.99/year (shown as $8.99/month). The US App Store also lists higher-usage Thrive 2x and Thrive 5x tiers. Rosebud offers a 40% discount for eligible students, seniors aged 65 and older, and people with disabilities on web sign-ups.

Is Rosebud safe and private?

Rosebud's privacy policy, updated September 8, 2026, says data is encrypted in transit and at rest, journal content sent to its AI providers is anonymized and covered by Zero Data Retention agreements, and journal entries are never shared or sold. It also says automated AI systems run machine-only quality evaluations on real interactions. Read the full policy if your entries are sensitive.

Will I lose my entries if I stop paying for Rosebud?

Rosebud says nothing you've written is going away and you can export everything at any time. Its help center explains how to export entries on mobile and on the web, where you can export all entries to Markdown.

What's the best free alternative to Rosebud?

Reflection has a free plan that includes its AI Coach, and says entries are never used to train AI. Dayora has a free core that replies to every entry. Life Note has a free tier with AI mentor access. See our Rosebud alternatives page for the full comparison.

Some links may become affiliate links; see our disclosure. Prices change often; confirm on the official site.